The Return of Albuquerque’s Mandatory Paid Sick Leave

Leave it up to the “leadership” of a City already distracted by stark public safety issues in a State that is embarking upon a controversial special session after a long period of economically-devastating “lockdown” to decide “now is the time to impose a costly new sick leave mandate on local businesses.

You can read about the proposal (although it is complicated and unclear) in the Albuquerque Journal.

Forcing Albuquerque businesses to pay mandatory sick leave is much the same as a tax increase which the Rio Grande Foundation has advocated so strongly against in the Legislature.

The LAST thing that businesses (many of which remain shut down) already struggling to recover from the unprecedented impact of the COVID-19 pandemic. Forcing businesses to pay out significant amounts at a time when revenue is way down will lead to more businesses closing and more
lost jobs for our city.

Of course Albuquerque voters  already rejected mandatory paid sick leave in 2017, but that wasn’t the result the well-funded advocacy groups and “progressive” city councilors wanted, so here we are.

Email members of the Albuquerque City Council and tell them “No paid sick leave mandate!” You can read the text of the proposed ordinance here.

Lan Sena: lansena@cabq.gov
Isaac Benton: ibenton@cabq.gov
Klarissa Pena: kpena@cabq.gov
Brook Bassan: bbassan@cabq.gov
Cynthia Borrego: cynthiaborrego@cabq.gov
Pat Davis: patdavis@cabq.gov
Diane Gibson: dgibson@cabq.gov
Trudy Jones: trudyjones@cabq.gov
Don Harris: dharris@cabq.gov

Dallas' Paid Sick Leave Push Is Back | Dallas Observer

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.